The Dust Mop Won

Photo by mysuspira © Flickr

Well, if anyone watched the 136th annual Westminster Kennel Club’s Dog Show last night, you would have witnessed Ch Palacegarden Malachy “Malachy”, the Pekingese, win Best In Show.

I must say, I’m quite disappointed. I was rooting for Ch Protocol’s Veni Vidi Vici “Fifi” the entire time as I am, of course, a bit bias. Fifi, of course, grabbed Best of Group in the Working group, although Scarlett the boxer was a very close second.

BOG in herding was snagged by GCH Babheim’s Captain Crunch “Cap”, a lovely looking German Shepherd dog; as long as he stayed still or was in a gait that is. He looked crippled to me. His back legs wobbled with every step and he looked as if his hips would give out any moment.

The Kerry Blue Terrier, GCH Perrisblu Kennislain’s Chelsey “Chelsey”, was BOG among the terriers. And GCH Shadagee Caught Red Handed “Emily” the Irish Setter won it among the sporting group. GCH Spotlights Ruffian “Ian” the Dalmatian and GCH Raydachs Playing With Fire V Gleishorbach SW “Cinders” won BOG in the Non-Spoting and Hound groups.

Malachy winning BOG among the Toys, well, let’s just say I really don’t get it. He moved horribly (which I hear is the perfect movement for the breed) and he panted and licked his nose the entire time, trying to catch his breath. Of course, all photos of the little guy managed to capture his mouth closed making him appear “normal” I suppose.

Out of curiosity, I had a look at his pedigree. I’m still new to the whole, Inbreeding Coefficient (COI) and Ancestor Loss Coefficient (AVK), but when I calculated Malachy’s COI for 5 generations, the results I got seemed pretty sad to me.

“Coefficient for PALACEGARDEN MALACHY

Inbreeding: 0.109375 (10.9375%)
AVK (ancestor loss coefficient): 56.451612903226%
The computation has been done for 5 generations”

That’s quite a bit of inbreeding for 5 generations in my own opinion. I’m now curious what that number would be if I researched more of his pedigree… What’s your take on his pedigree?

30 comments

  1. I’m no authority on pedigrees, but his family tree does not fork very much, that is true from what you posted!

    It pains me to see exaggerated, overbred dogs taking home wins…it only furthers the deviations. I watched the judging highlights from the German Shepherds, and that just about broke my heart. None of those dogs looked comfortable or moved right, and constantly had to be physically re-stacked. Whereas the lovely Fifi, I’m told (couldn’t watch the Dobie judging on the site last night, maybe it’s there now) has a lovely free stack, moves perfectly, great temperament, etc. I didn’t watch the others (Irish Setter, etc) to form my opinion of them.

    I’m prejudiced, obviously. But still flabbergasted. The Peke?

    1. Fifi had an amazing free stack. She would hold her stack for minutes at a time without having to be readjusted as well.
      I believe the doberman judging video is now up on the westminster site.

      The setter was gorgeous, and even the Kerry Blue Terrier (incorrectly posted as Skye Terrier above which I’ll fix) was beautiful, and I’m not the biggest terrier person.

      I’m gobsmacked as well that the Peke won. I honestly thought it was between Fifi and Emily. (the setter)

  2. 5 generations don’t tell you how inbred he was, but if you look at it closely, one of his lines is very tightly bred.

    Pekes derive from just a tiny number of founders, so if you go way back, they really start to converge.

    AVK is a much better coefficient than COI. It tells you a lot more.

    1. Very tight indeed! I have never really seen this kind of breeding in doberman pedigrees, although I’m sure it very much exsists!

      I’m learning something new all the time!

  3. When I see show dogs, I need to see dogs who could also do the work w/o pain or difficulty breathing. I’ll stay w/my hounds who could work (and Justus, of course) though I currently am hosting, I’m sure, a purebred Great Pyrenees intact male – very personable boy; was found lost near a highway :(.

    1. Awww poor guy! So glad he was found though. I wonder if he has a family?

      I must agree with you. I am saddened that there is such a divide between working vs. show in some breeds.

  4. I don’t see anything wrong in that pedigree. Looks like normal line breeding to me. I don’t know how many breeding dogs are available or how many dogs are bred a year, so it is difficult to say what is available. Line breeding is not always a bad thing. It is how many breeds were started and I dare say even dobes have been line bred from time to time. JMO

    I really liked the Chessie. Looked fit and moved like a dream. We showed Thunder under the Sporting Group judge once. lol He does not like big Chessies.

    1. Yes, Couper was quite stunning!

      I know about the linebreeding in dobes as I would love to have a show worthy bitch sometime in the future. I’ve been researching some pedigrees and saw different degrees of linebreeding, but I never came across a pedigree like Malachys. I quess it just really surprised me!

      1. I don’t know if there has been bottle-necking with that breed. There has in Chessies a couple of different times and so most dogs today have common ancestors if you go back to those times.

    2. Line-breeding is just inbreeding. In closed registry system, it all ends up the same over time.

      The part that should be looked at one of his dam’s ancestors where it’s really doubled up.

  5. 10% is not bad for five generations. Ideally you want to keep going backwards until you stop getting big changes in the COI. If you go back ten generations on this dog, it might go up a little bit, it might go up a lot.

    An explanation of COI, AVK, and COR:
    http://www.stca.biz/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=394:what-is-the-coi-alc-and-cor&catid=118

    I watched about half the Hound group and turned it off because I couldn’t stand looking at any more fat, squishy dogs.

    1. I just want to add, that you really cannot judge anything about a single dogs COI if you don’t know the average for the breed. For instance, the breed average for Salukis is 20%. I have a bitch that is close to 40%, most of that is up close breeding, and it’s very high. I also have dogs that are much, much lower than 20%, which would be considered low. To minimize gene loss, breeders should aim first for a COI that is lower than the average of the parents, and second, lower than the average for the breed.

      1. You’re right, so I decided to have a look at the average COI of the Peke. Being that he’s UK bred,I decided to have a look at Mate Select.

        Palacegarden Malachy has a COI of 14.9% while the Breed Average in the UK is 7.4%

        Wow.. almost double the average.

        I also agree with you on the hounds, many were quite pudgy! LOL

        1. Mate Select is an interesting tool but it’s COIs are highly inaccurate. This is because they use only the KC database, which, because many dogs are imports, doesn’t go back very far. An imported dog only needs three generations behind it, so if there are imports in the pedigree, you can get a very false impression of what the average or the COI for a specific dog really is. Their Saluki average is very low, for instance, but I have a pedigree analysis that shows with complete pedigrees, Salukis in the UK have an average COI of about 20%. So take everything from Mate Select witha grain of salt.

          1. Good to know! Thanks =D

            When I calculated it, it was only between 10 – 11.5 but that’s only using 5 generations. This is a whole new ballgame for me and I’m still learning all the rules lol

          2. Ideally, there would be a worldwide inclusive pedigree database that does COI calculation available for all breeds. Some breeds have them, some don’t. It pays to look, though.

      2. I’d like to see what it is ten generations back.

        If you look at lundehunds, they really have low COI’s in recent generations, but when you go back, it’s really bad. They all converge from those six ancestors.

  6. Pekingese are all derived from just a few dogs that were smuggled into England from 1860 to about 1900. There isn’t a lot of diversity, no matter how you look at it.

  7. The issue with this dog isn’t that it’s horribly inbred.

    It’s that its been bred to be horribly deformed, and this is considered a wonderful thing.

    All flat-faced dogs have issues breathing and cooling themselves. It’s a major welfare issue.

    1. I completely agree. If someone was out there surgically closing the airways to dogs to prevent them from beathing properly, everyone would be up in arms about it! But if you breed a dog that way, well that’s all fine and dandy….

  8. I’d be afraid to have a dog that couldn’t handle a half hour of walking around (or trotting) without needing to be cooled off…no matter breed. And admit I’m not a fan of toys…those who like them, awesome. I like dogs with function of beyond pets.

      1. I saw that…that’s what I mean. The competition isn’t *nearly* what my dogs do playing…they’d kill a dog like that. :-( No matter how many awards and shows, they’ve got to be functional.

Comments are closed.