We’re sorry!

Have you been receiving a flood of e-mails every time someone comments on one of our posts you commented on? If so, we’re terribly sorry! WordPress updated their software and made it so that the “Follow comments via e-mail” option is automatically checked.

Well, we removed the offending option from our blog now, so you shouldn’t receive any further emails from new posts. However, you will still have to unsubscribe to the posts you’re currently getting. To do so, open one of the e-mails you’ve received. You’ll see the option to visit http://subscribe.wordpress.com.

Once you visit the link, you’ll be taken to your subscription dashboard. You will see all the sites you follow and how often you receive e-mails from them. You’ll want to select the ‘Comments’ option at the top of the page, where you will be taken to all the posts you are receiving email updates from.

Check all the posts you’ve unwillingly subscribed to and choose Unfollow, the click apply.

If you too have a WordPress blog and want to remove the option until WordPress reverts back to how it was; follow these steps:

  1. Log into WordPress.com.
  2. Visit your blog Dashboard.
  3. Select ‘Settings’ and then ‘Discussion’
  4. Scroll down until you reach this: 
    Follow Comments [ ] Show a ‘follow comments’‘ option in the comment form
  5. Uncheck the option and save settings.

Volia!

Sorry again to everyone who was receiving countless e-mails from us!

8 comments

  1. It’s okay with me!

    I like knowing what everyone else is saying!

  2. Haha! I have been getting loads of this the last week, not just from you. For a moment, I thought Georgia was getting really popular with so many emails in her inbox! I’ve started to untick all those little comment boxes myself :) thanks for letting us know x

  3. Thank you. It has been annoying. It is not that I do not like seeing what others write, but all the emails go to my phone. Makes me nutso. I am going to go and turn off comment subscriptions on my blog. :)

  4. Seriously! This really helped. My inbox was flooded with emails. I couldn’t sleep with my phone going off with email notifications. lol. Thanks again.

Comments are closed.