New Kibble!

As many of you may know, I feed Kyuss a mix of home cooked food with kibble.

Previously Kyuss was on PC Nutrition First – Lamb & Brown Rice formula, which is a mid quality kibble for a decent price. However, a few months ago  I happened to be in Ottawa and stopped to grab a few groceries while there.

I shopped at a Loblaws, knowing they carry President’s Choice products. When I went to grab Kyuss’ usual brand of kibble, I noticed a flavour I’d seen before, but with a new design sitting on the shelf; PC Nutrition First – Salmon and Potato. The first thing that caught my attention was the black lab on the bag, but right next to it was a little red spot that said “NEW Grain-Free.”

I was surprised! I hadn’t heard anything about a grain-free kibble being introduced; apparently on the shelves since August 2011. But what was even more surprising, was the price; $17.99 CDN for a 4.5kg (10lbs) bag. That’s the  price for the same sized bag of the kibble with grain.

I thought I would give it a shot so I bought a bag and switched Kyuss over once his other kibble had run out. Kyuss, thankfully, has an iron gut, which is somewhat unusual for the breed.

When I first opened the bag, it smelled quite pleasant as far as dog food goes; not tasty ‘I’m going to try some myself’ smelling, but not like off-putting like regular dog food. The pieces were small which I prefer, although, those who have ravenous dogs who vacuum kibble from the bowl might not. When I feed Kyuss kibble, I do so in the evening with added cottage cheese, yogurt, pumpkin, olive oil, raw eggs etc. (not all at the same time!) However, this time I opted for just the kibble alone for the first few days to see how he would take to it. I was shocked when Kyuss gobbled the stuff up ‘dry,’ as he is normally rather picky about having something on his kibble.  Even my cats were interested in trying the kibble as my one cat managed to chew a hole in the handy resealable bag… (They have grain-free cat kibble as well.)

The website hasn’t updated the Salmon & Potato dog food page and the grain recipe is still listed, so I snapped a photo of the ingredients as well.  

Since being put onto the kibble, I’ve noticed Kyuss’ stools to be slightly more firm than they once were and he loves the stuff. I even found a store nearby which sells the food so I don’t have to make the trip to Ottawa anymore. Sadly, the only downside to buying this kibble is the fact it is not yet available in a larger sized bag. All other formulas of PC Nutrition First dog food come in bags up to 13.5kg (29lbs), so why they haven’t yet made a bigger bag is unknown to me. I’ve let PC know that I would prefer a larger size, as have others who leave comments on their website. Hopefully soon a bigger bag will be available as 4.5kg only lasts Kyuss a month or so, and that’s with eating home cooked food for breakfast.

All in all, I’m quite happy with this kibble. The quality is good, the price is right and Kyuss is happy and healthy eating it. If PC Products are available in your area, I’d recommend giving it a shot!

 

17 comments

  1. I’ve never heard of President’s Choice, so I don’t know if I just haven’t noticed it, or if it’s genuinely not available in my area. I’m glad to hear that Kyuss is doing well on it! I switched Elka’s kibble to grain free a little while back, and especially on the grain free Blue Buffalo, her stool is improved in the way that you describe Kyuss as having.

    1. President’s Choice is a Canadian company.. I know some US stores do carry their products, but sadly, I don’t know which ones they are.

      Here in Canada, Loblaws, Maxi, Real Canadian Superstore, Fortinos, Dominion, Provigo and Zehrs are a few which carry PC Products. I don’T know if any have an US counterparts, but that might be the best place to look. =]

  2. That ingredient list is impressive – just hope they make all their own food in their own plants unlike Diamond and the multiple recalls we’ve recently had in the lower 48. Kyuss looks great!

  3. Hi. I have been wandering around the internet trying to find some information on this dog food. I live in Atlantic Canada and shop at Atlantic Superstore. I was giving my golden the President’s Choice, Nutrition First, Lamb and Brown Rice formula. He did pretty well on it but began to develop some soft stool. I decided to give the Salmon and Potato (with minimal grains) a try. He loved it and was doing super on it. Well last week I dropped by the store to get something else and passed by the pet food aisle. No salmon and potato. I sent an email to the head office of Superstore and they sent me a reply telling me that the food has been deleted. Now I am worried that if I switch to the new one without the grains my boy might have issues. I also worry that this food might be deleted as well. Does anyone know where I might be able to find a similar dog food?

    1. Deleted? Perhaps Atlantic Superstore has discontinued stocking their shelves with the kibble, as I doubt that President’s Choice has stopped making it. I will phone PC soon and let you know if the product has been discontinued.

      As to where I bought my kibble; I bought the first bag at Loblaws in Ottawa, and now I currently buy from Provigo in Quebec.

      Check President’s Choice website for a store which stocks the products near you. You can call ahead once found and ask if they stock the kibble. =]

      http://www.presidentschoice.ca/LCLOnline/store_locator_landing_page.

    1. Kyuss seems to do very well on fish based food as well.
      I’ve even started adding fish to his home cooked meals. (We’ve been going fishing a lot this summer)=D

  4. I also feed this to our pup. I have spent some time looking for reviews online, but haven’t found too many. The list of ingredients is great and as you mention, the price is too. So much so I am almost concerned it isn’t as quality as other grain free, from the more expensive branded dog food companies like GO, or EVO, etc. Still trying to feed real food as much as possible though

    1. Thanks for commenting. It’s hard to say, as there is no guarantee of the quality of ingredients in any dog food brand. It could be that the quality is the same and the more expensive brands are just charging what they know we’ll pay, or as you said, it could be ingredient quality and source.
      I’m skeptical of almost all pet foods however, which is why I also add home cooked food to his diet. =]

  5. My black lab mix, Buddy Boy, has been eating this for a few years now because he can’t eat anything else. He loves it!! It makes his coat shiny, his fur soft & as you have said, poo awesome!!! I also add K-9 Shine to his meal. We also feed him fresh lobster & haddock!! I have fed him other grain free/no corn dog food but so expensive for less food but then again, we are paying for the name! I am getting more food for less money w/ no grain, corn, soy, etc!!! I am very pleased w/ this food! There are times that I will give him potato, peas, carrots & fish instead of his food at times but he loves this dog food! I am glad that your sweet Kyuss is doing so much better w/ this food!!!

    1. Thanks for commenting! Yes, Kyuss does amazing on it. I switched him back to the grain formula a while back as they were sold out at my local store, and boy, did he have the toots! He was stinking us out of house and home. As soon as they had the grain-free back in stock, I bought 6 bags so it wouldn’t happen again. XD

  6. I am so happy to have come across your blog post! Thank you for sharing your experience with the PC Nutrition First – Salmon & Potato *grain-free* brand. We switched our Hannah (pug x cocker spaniel) over to the toy/small breed PC Nutrition First – Chicken & Brown Rice kibble after she was having major issues being fed the Purina/Beneful brand (i.e. throwing up & severely dehydrated). After waking one morning to find dozens of piles of bile all over our house and a very sick and dehydrated Hannah gagging in the living room we rushed her to the vet. I was devastated! My vet was able to revive Hannah back to her very loving and energetic state by giving her fluid through intervenous as well as a subcutaneous fluids injection… My vet wasn’t able to give me many answers as to why Hannah had become so severely dehydrated so I took it upon myself to switch her food, needless to say Hannah’s been a bundle of good health and cuteness ever since! The reason I’ve been doing some research today into the First Nutrition brand is because of a lot of negative activity flying around the inter-webs on the Beneful food. I decided that even though Hannah’s been doing well on the brand we’ve switched her to way back when I still wanted to be sure I was feeding her quality food. Anyways, so it made me very happy to see your blog spot and to have that reassurance that I’ve been feeding my Hannah a good brand. My question is since I’m feeding Hannah the toy/small breed brand of Nutritional First do you think it’d be ok to switch to the Salmon & Potato brand? Is that brand universal to all dog sizes/ages? Thanks again!

  7. I have yet to try this brand but we have our small sized dog on Kirkland Signature Nature’s Domain Salmon & Sweet Potato formula and from day one her stools were perfect and her eye staining was noticeably reduced. However, there has been a recall in the past with this manufacturer (Diamond) so I am not sure if we will stick with them exclusively or what.

    My biggest concern with the PC version is simply this… they have a pet line and make their own toys, bowls, beds, leashes, etc. and everything is made in China. if you buy PC name brand pots and pans, glassware, even clothes (their own Joe brand) well it all comes from China. My concern is that some ingredients could come from China in order to keep cost down.

    If Loblaws confirms it is made in Canada, I will definitely give it a go.

Comments are closed.