Roxie


We visited my brother-in-law and his girlfriend a few days back.

He owns a chocolate Labrador named Roxie, as well as two ‘teacup’ Chihuahuas, who happen to be de-barked. When they bark now, they sound like broken squeak toys. (I should get a video) I’m sure the Chihuahuas are very sweet, but I’ll never know since they’re terrified of everyone, and wee on the floor once you get too close.

Roxie on the other hand, is a sweet, even-tempered girl who loves the water as any Labrador should. She spends the entire summer season, in and out of the pool, which causes the fur along her back to bleach from the combination of chlorine and sunshine.

Sadly, she’s obese as many suburban Labrador’s are. Kyuss is overweight himself, but only by 7lbs at most. Roxy is about 25lbs overweight.

It’s hard to tell an in-law their pet is fat. It’s even harder to tell them they’re killing their dog by loving it.

So I don’t.

Instead, I encourage Roxie to retrieve the ball I’ve thrown for her.
She looks at me with a sorrowful look in her eyes, as if to say ‘I can’t run that far.’

Kyuss retrieves it instead.

15 comments

    1. She’s a beautiful, lovely girl. So good with everyone and everything. Sadly, she’s fat through no fault of her own. =[

  1. Awesome fat dog photos! And the situation: sadly hilarious. LOL.

  2. Poor Roxie :(

    That is a tough situation to try to approach without hurting any feelings.

    1. It is. He know’s she’s fat, but he doesn’t do much about it. She does get daily walks and as I mentioned, swims a lot! But she’s just really overfed. If he could cut back on the food love, she’d be trim in no time!

  3. Poor girl. I really hate seeing fat dogs that do not have a medical reason for it.
    One of my Mom’s dogs, Sasha, was 20 pounds overweight when I moved back. Along with a diet change, I got her to drop that weight and now she can join Conker, Juneau, and I on walks and hikes and not be exhausted after only 1/2 mile. She’s still not as active as her sister or the Shiba beast, but she can go 8 miles easily now.
    Mom knew she was overweight, and it was as simple as cutting her food portion to get her to drop the weight. The vet gave Mom a lecture, a real “your dog is gonna die if you keep this up” type of lecture, but the message didn’t sink in. Until I moved back in and Sasha dropped that 20 pounds. Now that Mom’s seen the difference, she knows not to ever let Sasha get fat again.
    I know it’s difficult to be stern with relatives, but I consider overfeeding abuse right along with starving, and being related is no excuse for that. I am often told I am blunt, but I’d rather speak my mind then just go along with things, especially if an animal is suffering because of it, even if other people find it offensive.

    1. “I consider overfeeding abuse” I couldn’t agree more. I’ve mentioned in the past that he should stop over-feeding her, but I don’t want to press the issue. I’m pretty opinionated, but when my advice isn’t taken the first time, I generally shut-up. I’m just not brave enough to once again confront him on the subject. =[

  4. Yea, it is hard. I have never heard if a dog being de-barked. I’m not sure a vet would do it here in the UK. So many people love their dogs in the wrong way! Sometimes the only thing we can do is learn from it.

    1. Thanks for commenting Bella! De-barking is done here mainly to smaller, yappier, dogs to keep the peace. I don’t agree with the surgery as a norm, but if it means a dog gets to stay in its home vs. going to a shelter or some other fate, I can see it as a last option. The vocal chords have a small piece taken out of each side to dull the harsh tone of the bark.

      As for learning from Roxie, I definately have! Kyuss is overweight and I hate it. I’ve now cut back on his feeding and have upped his walks; sadly with the heat we’ve been having lately, we can’t go for the nice long hikes we used to and are limited to early, early mornings and late evenings when the humidity isn’t as harsh.

  5. Yikes poor thing. Of course many “British” style labs appear obese even when they aren’t. Unfortunately Roxie looks like she is truly obese.

    1. Yes, it’s the same with European Dobermanns. They don’t tend to have as much of a tuck-up as the American lines. Roxie is very much overweight though. She’s actually slimmed down a bit since the first time I met her 4 years ago, but she has a bit of a ways to go yet.

  6. I also a have chocolate Lab named Roxy. We have had a very hot summer and have not been getting the exercise that we usually get. So, right now she is a couple of pounds overweight. I really try to keep the weight off because we do agility and she doesn’t need the extra pounds when she jumps. Anyway, we are off to Lake Champlain today for a workout. :)

    BTW: These dogs are basically pigs. I say that with tongue firmly stuck in cheek. Anyone who has been around a chocolate Lab will understand.

    1. Yes, Kyuss hasn’t been getting the exercise he needs either with all this hot humid weather. Unfortunately, Roxie has been fat for the last 4 years I’ve known her, although she has slimmed down a little bit, thankfully.

      How was Lake Champlain? I bet it was nice in this weather!

      Oh, and yes, Roxie (our Roxie) is quite good at giving the pitiful hunger look at the table, and it works VERY well on her human. =O

Comments are closed.